Explore presents author Lisa Forbes with her book I Can Take It From Here, her personal account of the murder she committed, her fourteen years in prison, and how she has made a life for herself since. Readers see the book in the tradition of Somebody’s Daughter, A Piece of Cake, and Jesmyn Ward’s Men We Reaped. Lisa is the youngest of six children, who grew up in a Chicago housing project where she endured sexual, religious, and emotional abuse as a little girl. A voracious reader, she graduated high school at 15 and went to work as a secretary in a downtown insurance office, became pregnant at 16 and, at 19, unexpectedly and uncharacteristically committed a violent act, stabbing and killing the father of her daughter. Providing powerful insights into what we as a society need to learn and confront in the ongoing epidemic of mass re-incarceration, Lisa is a stunning example of an individual who through determination, knowledge, and hard work has been able to reclaim her own life. "Lisa Forbes' memoir forced me to rethink how best to impact change. Lisa argues that addressing the underlying trauma that leads so many to the criminal justice system should be at the real core of our work as a society." -- Johnny C. Taylor, Jr., President & CEO, Society for Human Resource Management.

Event date: 
Tuesday, June 14, 2022 - 5:30pm
Event address: 
I Can Take it from Here: A Memoir of Trauma, Prison, and Self-Empowerment (Truth to Power) By Lisa Forbes Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781586423049
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Steerforth Press / Truth to Power - June 7th, 2022

Lisa Forbes - Colorado Memoirist and Ex-Convict