Never Go Home: A Novel (A Faulkner Family Thriller #2) (Hardcover)

Never Go Home: A Novel (A Faulkner Family Thriller #2) By Christopher Swann Cover Image
$27.99
Usually Available/Ships in 5-7 Business Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the A Faulkner Family Thriller series.

Description


She’s a weapon forged in the fires of her past—but this time, the flames could consume her in Critically acclaimed Southern mystery novelist Christopher Swann’s followup to Never Turn Back, perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and David Swinson.

Orphaned at age ten by a violent home invasion, Susannah Faulkner grew up wild, her stubbornness the only thing harder than her heart. Since then, she’s used her skills to put a boot in the faces of those who deserve it. She knows she’s wired wrong and living a dangerous and violent life, but she’s determined to wring something decent from the world before she leaves it.

Then she gets word her brother Ethan needs her help and returns home to Atlanta. But in the airport, she finds her Uncle Gavin suffering a heart attack. Before he is rushed to the hospital, Gavin whispers a single word to Suzie: Peaches. She’s determined to uncover the meaning behind the cryptic message, but Ethan is also deep in trouble. An ex-soldier and ex-con named Finn appeared on his doorstep with a disturbing story: fifteen years earlier, Finn served with their father in Iraq, where they stole millions in cash. Now the money is missing, and Finn wants his share—or else.

A gang war threatens to explode on Atlanta’s streets. Uncle Gavin clings to life in the hospital. Finn is bent on finding his missing millions. And now, Suzie will be tested as never before in a crucible of violence where all that she holds dear is on the line. 

About the Author


Christopher Swann is a graduate of Woodberry Forest School in Virginia. He earned a B.A. in English from Washington and Lee University, an M.A. in English and creative writing from the University of Missouri-Columbia, and a Ph.D. in creative writing from Georgia State University. He lives with his wife and two sons in Atlanta, where he is the English department chair at Holy Innocents' Episcopal School.

Praise For…


Praise for Never Go Home:
“[A] hard-hitting sequel . . . Lisbeth Salander fans will relish Suzie’s pitiless approach to obtaining justice.”
Publishers Weekly
 
“Swann comes out swinging in an action-packed thriller that will keep riveted readers on their toes.”
New York Journal of Books

“Fast-paced and full of action . . . perfect for fans of Patterson and Baldacci.”
San Francisco Book Review

“Swann is already well admired for his intelligent and skilled plotting, and with Never Go Home, not only do we get more of that, but he has upped the ante with the unforgettable and beautifully flawed Susannah Faulkner . . . By far the best Swann novel yet.” 
—Brian Panowich, award-winning author of Bull Mountain & Tiny Daggers

“Equal parts brutal and tender, Never Go Home is a fast-paced page-turner with a bad-ass heroine."
—Tara Laskowski, award-winning author of The Mother Next Door

"Christopher Swann is a mad scientist of Southern fiction. His ability to synthesize genres is unrivaled, and Never Go Home is a wonderful testament to his talent."
—Mark Westmoreland, author of A Violent Gospel

Praise for Christopher Swann:
2021 Georgia Author of the Year Award Winner, A Fire in the Night
2020 Georgia Author of the Year Award Finalist, Never Turn Back

A Fire in the Night is a searing story about the ties that bind and how sometimes they begin to strangle us. Christopher Swann has created a nuanced yet thrilling novel of family, grief and ultimately hope. Not to be missed.” 
—S.A. Cosby, bestselling author of Blacktop Wasteland and Razorblade Tears

"A rural noir that’s loaded with surprises . . . Character-driven and memorable, A Fire in the Night is Swann’s best yet.” 
—Alex Segura, acclaimed author

"Tense and action-packed, with an ending that will make your heart stop, A Fire in the Night is a nail-biter with a Southern twang."
—Kimberly Belle, internationally bestselling author of Dear Wife and Stranger in the Lake

“Christopher Swann never disappoints."
—J. T. Ellison, New York Times bestselling author of Good Girls Lie

"Swann’s writing packs a huge emotional wallop and delivers a breathtaking ending.”
Booklist, starred review


Product Details
ISBN: 9781639100828
ISBN-10: 1639100822
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: August 9th, 2022
Pages: 288
Language: English
Series: A Faulkner Family Thriller