The Odyssey (Hardcover)

The Odyssey By Lara Williams Cover Image
$27.00
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Dec 3 11:18am
(Popular Fict\Mystery)

Description


"Read if you like: Ottessa Moshfegh's My Year of Rest and Relaxation, artificial flavors, avoidant behavior, wondering what a 'lifestyle' is and whether you have one." --Molly Young, The New York TimesNamed a Most Anticipated Book of 2022 by The Millions, a Best Book to Read in April by Town & Country and The AV Club, and one of 2022's Best Beach Reads by Southern Living.
From the prize-winning author of Supper Club--a debut novel that Vogue called "Stephanie Danler's Sweetbitter meets Donna Tartt's The Secret History"--comes The Odyssey, a fresh twist on the epic journey and an unapologetic takedown of capitalism that will appeal to fans of Melissa Broder and Ottessa Moshfegh.
Ingrid works on a gargantuan luxury cruise liner where she spends her days reorganizing the gift-shop shelves and waiting for long-term guests to drop dead in the aisles. That is, until the day she is selected by the ship's enigmatic captain and self-appointed lifestyle guru, Keith, for his mentorship program.
Encouraging her to reflect on past mistakes, Keith pushes Ingrid further than she ever thought possible. But it isn't long before Ingrid's unwavering devotion forces her to reckon with the dark underbelly of life on the sea, and the surrealist absurdity of work itself.




Product Details
ISBN: 9781638930068
ISBN-10: 1638930066
Publisher: Zando
Publication Date: April 26th, 2022
Pages: 240
Language: English